Dia de el amor

Originally posted Tuesday, February 14, 2012
 
It’s Valentine’s Day- some people either love or truly loathe this day. I used to be on the fence. There are thousands of arguments of why we shouldn’t celebrate this day; we have all heard the Hallmark argument… At the end of the day, I feel like we all fall in to some type of thing that ‘society’ has convinced us to do or not to do. Personally the more you fight it the more you want it and end up giving in or you spend more time hating it in the end and letting it take over your thoughts- so who really wins in that situation?
 
   Today I got to wake up next to someone I care about, I got to enjoy this day and not worry about how much money I had to spend to make him happy or how much he spent on me- I didn’t worry if my make up was smeared when I woke up or if my pajamas matched and looked perfect, and the best part about it all is that I get to do that EVERY morning. I honestly think that everyone has the capability of doing that. Whether we let ourselves do that or get to that…well that is on us.
 
   I think the most important thing to take away from a day like this is to realize that it shouldn’t take Valentine’s Day to tell someone you love them. That should come naturally. Love shouldn’t be forced. Love should just happen when it’s supposed to. Love doesn’t have an equation or a perfect solution and sometimes it doesn’t work out and sometimes it’s the hardest thing that you will deal with through out your day, week, month or even year.
 
My thoughts… 
The best love affairs should last a lifetime.
The bad ones typically fade out.
Sometimes we get stuck dealing with the bad ones for too long.
A lot of times we don’t even realize we are even in a ‘bad one’
Not every relationship you should care about most should be with a significant other.
Just because you are single doesn’t mean you can’t be in love.
The great thing is that we can always move on to the best love affair of all time, no matter how old or young you are. (I have seen proof of this)
 
“Everyone says that Love hurts, but that is not true. Loneliness hurts. Rejection hurts. Everyone confuses these things with Love. In reality, Love is the only thing in this world that covers up all the pain and makes us feel wonderful again”
 
   I know that not all love and relationships are perfect and I don’t pretend to be in a perfect one or know the keys to have one or where to look for one or how to be perfect for someone else, but I can continue to be me and see where that gets me. I will do that on Valentine’s Day and every day of the year. 
 
  I will love and I will tell those who I love that I do everyday because you just never know when they will stop listening or when they won’t be able to or when you won’t have the opportunity to tell them anymore.
 

Three words. One meaning. Endless possibilities.

Image

 

Salud!

Leave a Reply

