Look whats cookin- Turkey lettuce wraps with Peanut Sauce

Originally posted Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Tonight I am making lettuce wraps and my very own peanut sauce!

My obsession with peanut sauce these days has been well… lets just say an intervention may be in order.

Turkey lettuce wraps with Peanut Sauce
serves about 4-6 people

*Here is what you will need*

For the sauce:
1 1/2 cup of smooth unsalted natural peanut butter
1 cup hoisin sauce
5 tablespoons of lime juice
4 scallions, white and green parts, coarsely chopped
2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
4 tablespoons sesame oil
Hot sauce to taste ( I used sriracha)
8 tablespoons of water

Image

How to make your sauce:
In a food processor or blender combine the peanut butter, hoisin, lime juice, all your scallions, soy sauce, sesame oil, and I added one teaspoon of hot sauce to start and 4 tablespoons of the water- and just blend. You can add the rest of your water as you go so that the sauce will get to a good consistency. (I ended up adding more sriracha so that it would even out with the sweetness- but add to your taste, if you don’t want spice you could add more lime juice)

ImageImage

Once all your ingredients are blended you will have some very delicious peanut sauce!

For the Lettuce Wraps:
2 lbs ground turkey
18 Lettuce leaves (I used romaine, typically others use Boston or bibb lettuce leaves)
3 tablespoons hoisin sauce
2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
1 8 oz can water chestnuts
2 medium bell peppers (your color choice)
6 scallions, white and green parts, coarsely chopped
5 oz pack shitake mushrooms
Carrots julienned (your choice on amount- for inside of wrap)
Edamame (optional for the inside as well)
Salt and pepper to taste

Image

Turkey Time:
All the experiences I have had with turkey, I think it is best to over season.
All veggies are cut up- peppers cubed- mushrooms and water chestnuts coarsely chopped
I used a wok to cook the turkey- Add just a bit of olive oil and let it heat up.
Add the scallions first, let them cook until they become fragrant, about 3 minutes.

Image

Add half your bell peppers and water chestnuts (I leave half off all my veggies with out mixing into the turkey so you have some crunch for the lettuce wraps)

Image

Next add half your mushrooms and cook for two minutes.
Now you can add the turkey- let it cook for 3 minutes add your soy sauce and hoisin as well as salt and pepper to taste. This is where you can feel free to add more soy and hoisin!

Once your turkey is browned you are all set! Set the table and get ready to have at it!
Image

Build your lettuce wrap as you please and take a bite. The best part? No need to feel guilty about eating this one! I love this meal because it is relatively easy and it is so light and fresh. When I am done, I don’t feel like I ate something I shouldn’t have and that is always a good thing!

Image

Salud!

Leave a Reply

