Sugar cookie fruit tarts

Originally posted Thurday March 22, 2012

The other day was my sister’s 30th!!!
I decided to make her favorite desert – fruit tarts! I did these a little different than using the puff pastry.

I was inspired by the blog “Heck Fridays”
http://heckfridays.blogspot.com/2011/05/sugar-cookie-fruit-tarts.html

I followed their recipe almost to a T

What you will need:

Pre-made Sugar Cookies
(my cookies were traditional Pillsbury cookies and followed the directions on the wrapper)
Fruit
(I chose raspberries, blueberries, canned mandarins, blackberries and strawberries)
For the Cream
1 bar – cream cheese
1/2 cup – sour cream
2 tblsp – orange juice
1 tsp – vanilla
1/2 cup – powdered sugar
(“Heck Fridays” included a glaze but I left that out I am sure it would look nice so feel free to include that)
So first I baked my cookies and while they baked I sliced up my strawberries in fourths so that they would stand up nicely on my tarts.
Once my cookies baked I took them out too cool- I let them bake all the way through to avoid them getting soggy after the cream goes on.
Now measure out your ingredients for your cream and place them all into a bowl and mix together (you don’t even need a mixer!) The ladies on “Heck Fridays” added heavy whipping cream (just 1/3 cup)so I did the same, but its not completely necessary either way I do think it turns out great!
Don’t be afraid of any lumps in your cream it still works- you can leave as is or just keep mixing until its nice and smooth- personal choice I think. Mine turned out nice and smooth.
Now you can add your cream into a zip lock baggie and cut the end off for an at home piping bag- I have one at home so I just added all the cream into it and nicely put it on to my cookies.
Now just start arranging your fruit on top!
Now you have a fancy fruit tart in half the time and half the hassle but just as delicious!
(Side note if your sugar cookie bake together in the pan and don’t come out in perfect circles don’t be shy- cut the apart, life isn’t perfect and your cookies might not be either- mine weren’t and they were still a hit!)
Image
Leave a Reply

