Not giving up

Originally posted Thursday, March 7, 2013

This has been a trying week so far-

 My Facebook status on Monday will say a lot:

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, The courage to change the things I can, And wisdom to know the difference.”

The truth is I woke up and I was not too sure I was ready to face the day ahead, much less the week. I then was so blessed to received texts , phone calls, messages from my friends asking if I was okay and if I needed anything, just because of a simple Facebook status. It is no lie that the people who are truly special and important will be there to help you when you are down. Needless to say I was happy and motivated by these gestures. I needed them, I needed those people to show up at that moment and let me know I could do it. 

As my week proceeded I won’t lie and say that all things went well, I felt down- I’m in the process of trying to feel better about my body so eating healthier, working out etc.  So when you are down all you want is – or at least I do, is some chicken wings and some good TV time, I’m not the tub of ice cream kind of girl. So I had to fight that urge, luckily I had Jake to keep me motivated. I attended my first ever Zumba class which made me feel in my element, I talked to my friends, vented to my sister who by the way is one of the most wise women I know and came across an amazing quote.

“You can’t reach for anything new if your hands are still full yesterday’s junk” -Louise Smith

Now I might add, I am the worst at letting things go! I hold grudges and I never forget things (I realize these are terrible attributes) believe me I work on these every single day! This is the very reason my week started off so rotten. I don’t pretend to be super religious, I do believe in my God but I don’t force him on anyone else- to each their own. I do forget to remind myself to give my problems or my negative thoughts over to him. I forget to remind myself that He will not give me more than I can handle. Through all this crappy stuff, I also got a very pleasant reminder that He has put some amazing people in my life to help me get through these times and for that I am forever grateful.

¡Salud!

Leave a Reply

