Rico Pico de Gallo stuffed chicken

Originally posted January 15, 2013

This recipe I just made up on a whim all with things I already had at home. It turned out pretty good so I thought I would share!

Ingredients:
Toothpicks
4 chicken breasts
2 cups of  Sabra Pico De Gallo salsa

 

3/4 cup of Gorgonzola crumbled cheese
3/4 cup of blue cheese
2 tablespoons of dried chives

Image

lemon pepper seasoning

Image

olive oil to drizzle

What to do:
Preheat oven to 350
Take your chicken breast (thawed) and butterfly them so the chicken breasts are easily stuffed. I also suggest that you pound them down a bit thinner.
In a baking dish place your chicken and drizzle with olive oil and season generously with lemon pepper seasoning.

 

In a small bowl mix in your salsa blue cheese and Gorgonzola and your chives as well as a little more lemon pepper seasoning all together. This is the mixture that will all be stuffed inside. I left a little extra to put on top after it baked.

Image

Once it is all mixed together, you can begin to stuff each chicken. Once each chicken is stuffed secure the openings with a few tooth picks.

Image

Now it is time to bake! Bake for 30-40 minutes I like to put aluminum foil over the chicken so they stay really juicy, this may change your baking time, so just keep an eye on them. I would recommend checking after about 25 minutes if you decide to keep them covered.

I served the chicken with pasta on the side just tossed in some garlic seasoning and olive oil- you could also do a steamed veggie or black beans!
Image

Hope you enjoy- Salud!

 

2 thoughts on “Rico Pico de Gallo stuffed chicken

  1. I made mine with pico de gallo and I cut up bacon and mixed it in. I also wrapped the chicken in bacon then wrapped them with foil and threw it on the grill for like 35 min

Leave a Reply

