Parma Rosa Sauce

We were having a pasta dinner at Libby and Mark’s house with the family the night before the Slacker Race and it was my responsibility to bring a sauce. So I decided to bring a homemade Parma Rosa sauce (Jake’s favorite when he was growing up)
So I decided to throw it together and see what happened. I had everything I needed in my fridge and pantry (Jake picked up the cream on his way home from work)

Ingredients:

  • 6 large garlic cloves (yes I use a lot)
  • 4 chives thinly chopped green and white parts
  • 2 fresh tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 cans of Italian flavored crushed or diced tomatoes (pictured in jar)
  • salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste 
  • 1/4 c. heavy cream (my pic says heavy whipping-my bad)
  • 1/2 c. freshly grated Parmesan cheese 
  • 1 tsp onion powder 
  • Water as needed

ImageImageFirst you will chop up your garlic, tomatoes and chives and set aside
Next heat a pan with some olive
Once your pan is warm add your garlic and cook until it becomes fragrant about 3 minutes (do not let it brown or it will taste bitter)Image
once the garlic has softened add your chives.
While your chives cook down heat a pot with your canned tomatoes and let them simmerImage
Next add your FRESH tomatoes to your chive and garlic mixture and season with salt and pepper to taste
Once your chive mixture looks and feels soft and juices have begun to extract from your tomatoes add it to the pot of your canned tomatoesImage
Add about 2 tablespoons of water and let it simmer
Now you can begin to add your cream
Slowly add it in and stir- you can also sprinkle in your cheese. (Save some for a topping too!)
You can continue to add water for a thinner sauce
I then added the onion powder- this is an extra step it is not necessary but I thought it gave the sauce a great flavor!ImageI let it simmer for about 5 more minutes. Done and Done!Image

I got rave reviews at our pasta dinner and I think you will too!

One thought on “Parma Rosa Sauce

  1. Pingback: Flatbread Pizza | sharisabe

Leave a Reply

