Cajun Chicken Stuffed Shells

I have always wanted to try my hand at stuffed shells. I used to work at an Italian restaurant and they had these amazing stuff shells!
So I decided to go ahead and make up my own mixture to put inside. I went for a spicy mixture because my dad is in town and he loves spicy food. You could always replace the Cajun spice with simple salt and pepper or even lemon pepper. You could add marinara- the possibilities are endless!

Ingredients
12 oz. box jumbo shell pasta
1 tablespoon Cajun seasoning
1 teaspoon of pepper
4 cups cooked and shredded boneless, skinless chicken breast (I made mine a pressure cooker)
16 oz. skim ricotta cheese
1 egg
1 1/2 cup heavy cream
2 cup shredded part-skim Mozzarella cheese

Image

Directions:

Cook your pasta shells as directed on the box- usually about 9 minutes in boiling salted water

*In a separate bowl Mix together sauce:
1 cup of heavy cream
1 1/2 tablespoon of Cajun seasoning
1/2 teaspoon of pepper
1 cup of Mozzarella

Image

*In another bowl make chicken mixture:
11/2 cup of heavy cream
Shredded chicken
1 egg
Ricotta cheese
1/2 teaspoon of pepper
1 1/2 tablespoon of cajun seasoning
(I also add tomatoes to my chicken mixture at the last minute just for fun)ImageImage

Once your pasta has cooked- drain it and let it cool. Stuff shells with your chicken mixture, about 1 Tablespoon per shell.
Place in an oven safe dish. Cover shells with your sauce mixture and sprinkle with extra shredded Mozzarella.

Image
Bake at 350F about 30 minutes or until heated through and cheese is melted.Image

*Side note: pre-made Cajun seasoning from the store tends to be salty so if you ask me salt is not needed in this recipe! I will also suggest looking up your own Cajun seasoning recipe so you can control that factor.

Salud!

Image

Leave a Reply

