Coconut Shrimp

Now that the warmer weather is coming back, I thought I would share my recipe for coconut shrimp. I made this a while back and this time actually wrote down what it is I did. This recipe is quick and really easy to make.

I remember we had this on a really nice day that we spent on the patio with my mom, she and my grandmas are the reason that my sister and I have gained such a love for cooking- they are the best cooks I know!

We got to share a lazy day outside, and to me it really doesn’t get much better than that!

coco shrimp final

Ingredients:

1 lb (24) large raw shrimp, peeled and deveined

1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut

1/2 cup panko crumbs

pinch salt

2 tbsp all purpose flour ( I used almond flour but either will work)

1 egg

salt to taste

non-stick spray

coco shrimp ingred

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425°.

Combine coconut flakes, panko crumbs and salt in a bowl.

coco shrimp flour mix

Put your flour into a sepereate plate or bowl.

Whisk egg in another bowl.

coco shrimp egg

Dip the shrimp in the flour, shaking off any excess, then dip into the egg, followed by the coconut.

Spray a non-stick baking sheet with cooking spray and then lay the shrimp down and spray the top of the shrimp a bit more

coco shrimp before bake

Bake for about 10 minutes.

Turn shrimp over then cook another 6-7 minutes or until cooked through.

Remove from oven and serve with dipping sauce.

coco shrimp final

I also made a sauce for the shrimp which consisted of apricot preserves with some sweet Thai chili sauce you can play around with the mixture to get the taste you prefer. (you could also use red pepper flakes to add some heat)

 

Salud!

 

2 thoughts on “Coconut Shrimp

  1. Hi,

    Your blog has caught our attention thanks to the quality of your recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us on Mytaste.com so that we could link to your blog.

    Mytaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. We are one of the largest in the world with sites in 37 markets and thousands of blogs are already enrolled here and benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join Mytaste.com, just go to mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Sincerely,
    Mytaste.com

  2. Pingback: New England Style Pan Fried Shrimp Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

